Cobb Student Publications Honored At Georgia Scholastic Press Association Convention

Several student newspapers and yearbooks from Cobb schools received awards at the 2009 Georgia Scholastic Press Association Awards Ceremony at the Classic Center in Athens, GA. The honored publications and individuals from Cobb are:

Harrison High School, The Legacy yearbook, AAAAA
Lassiter High School, Laureate, AAAAA
Pebblebrook High School, BrookSpeak, AAAA
Pebblebrook High School, Aplomado yearbook, AAAA
Pope High School newspaper, Greyhound Tracks – General Excellence, Best Front Page Design, AAAAA
Sprayberry High School, Echo yearbook, AAAAA
Walton High School, The Legend yearbook – General Excellence, AAAAA

Marcus Lyons, Pebblebrook High School, Cover Design (yearbook)
Rachel McCoy and James McJunkins, Spread Design  (yearbook)
Chandler Fisk, Special Interest Story  (yearbook)

Nearly 500 high school students and their advisers attended the annual event, which was keynoted by Julie Wolfe, a noted “backpack journalist” and Atlanta TV reporter for 11 Alive. Organized in 1928 by UGA’s Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication, the Georgia Scholastic Press Association assists Georgia high school media programs and students by encouraging the production of quality publications and broadcast programs through instruction and contests. There are 132 GSPA member publications for the 2008-09 school year, representing some 3,000 students across the state.