State Board of Education Recognizes Cobb Media Programs, Administrator

ga_excellence_sealSeveral Cobb County Schools and individuals were honored during the Aug. 13 meeting of the state Board of Education as part of the board’s Excellence Recognition program. Three Cobb schools and their media specialists were recognized for having exemplary library media programs: Joanne Bates at Tritt Elementary; Kelly Paynter, Ashley Siegel and Jo Zarzeka at Sprayberry High School and Heather Kindschy and Jane Roberts of Hillgrove High School are among the state honorees. Cobb had more media programs honored than any other district in the state!

The Foreign Language Association of Georgia (FLAG) also gave its 2009 Administrative Support Award to Kathy Annis, Cobb’s director for instructional administration.

The state board’s excellence recognition program began in January 1983 and honors public school students, staff, and school supporters for achievement in various curriculum and leadership areas.