Board Recognitions – January 26 2017

Note: The following photos were taken at the January 26, 2017, Cobb County School Board Meeting. CCSD Communications Director Donna Lowry presented these students and staff to the board for special recognition. A transcript of her comments are provided here to accompany the photos.


Class AAAAAA (6A) Girls Cross Country State Champions – Harrison High School


We have the pleasure of recognizing four state champion teams. The first state champion team we honor is the Class 6A Harrison High School Girls Cross Country Team. The Hoyas outran the other teams to claim their third state championship title. At this time, we would like to invite the cross country state champions along with Harrison Assistant Principal and Athletic Director Matt Moody to join the board at the front of the room.



Class AAAAAAA (7A) Volleyball State Champions – Walton High School


We are thrilled to announce the Walton High School Girls Volleyball team captured the Class 7A state championship for the second consecutive year. The Lady Raiders ranked in the top 50 nationally for the season. To celebrate their fantastic season, we would now like to recognize the Walton High School Girls Volleyball team, Walton Principal Judy McNeill, Athletic Director Chris Williams and Coach Susan Fitzgerald at the front of the room.



Class AAAAAAA (7A) One Act Play State Champions – Kennesaw Mountain High School


We are pleased to recognize the state champions of performing arts. Kennesaw Mountain High School’s One Act Play, “The Boys Next Door” claimed the title as best in state for Class 7A. The Board members and Superintendent would like to congratulate the One Act Play State Champions, play director Coy Dunn and Kennesaw Principal Mark Trachtenbroit.



JROTC Female Raider Team State Champions – Osborne High School


We are delighted to announce our fourth state champion team. The Osborne High School Navy JROTC Female Raider Team. The Navy JROTC team competed in events including a 5-k run, cross country run carrying 35-pound back packs, obstacle course, tire flip and the construction and crossing of a rope bridge. We would like to ask the accomplished Navy JROTC Female Raider Team to join the board along with the following Osborne staff: Chief Warrant Officer Four (CW4) Rodney G. Fagan, a senior army military science teacher; Army Military Science Teachers First Sergeant Alton Walker and Sergeant First Class Deborah D. Trice; Principal Joshua Morreale; Assistant Principals Sheldon Bulluck and Jennifer Glendenning and Student Leadership Intern Amanda Pittman.


Cobb STEM Certification

The Cobb STEM Certification process is designed to recognize schools or programs within schools that support quality STEM-enriched learning opportunities, as well as provide schools with clear guidelines and criteria to support them along their STEM journey. We are excited that five new schools have received the county’s STEM Certification.


Walton High School


Mableton Elementary School


Belmont Hills Elementary School


King Springs Elementary School


Lassiter High School also received Advanced Ed STEM Certification, which is the first internationally recognized mark of quality for STEM schools and programs. The AdvancedEd STEM certification demonstrates Lassiter’s commitment to preparing students for future educational and career opportunities.



Georgia STEM Certification:




We also honor Cooper Middle School for being the first middle school in the state to receive Georgia STEM Certification. At this time, the Board would like to invite the following Cooper STEM representatives to come to the front of the room: Principal Dr. Vanessa Watkins; science teachers Carol Mickus, Diane Goldsberry and Corrine Golding; math teachers Monica Moore, Stephanie Ruffner and Crystal Mast; media specialist Susan Daley; and pre-engineering technology teacher Herasheia Dozier.



Greatest Gains in Attendance Department of Education:


We’re thrilled the Georgia Department of Education recognized Belmont Hills Elementary as one of the top 12 schools with the greatest progress in improving student attendance. Only three elementary schools made the list. The honored schools had the largest percentage decline in the number of students missing 15 or more days of school over the past two school years. The schools also had to have a School Climate Star Rating of 4 or 5. When I call your name, please come to the front of the room to be recognized by the board for Belmont’s achievement: Principal Bertha Nelson; Assistant Principal Ashley Mize; Student Leadership Intern Tresa Snow; and SSA Rollie Solomon.



National Scholar for Gifted Education:


We are excited to announce that the National Association for Gifted Children (NAGC) named Elizabeth Dunlap a 2016 Javits-Frasier Scholar. Dunlap, who serves as the Gifted Education teacher at Fair Oaks Elementary School, was also recently honored as the District’s Elementary Level Teacher of the Year. Elizabeth, please join the Board at the front of the room with your Fair Oaks Principal Dr. Cindy Szwec.



Georgia Council of Teachers of Mathematics (GCTM) Awards:


We are thrilled three Cobb County teachers swept the Georgia Council of Teachers of Mathematics Awards. The three awards are given to teachers who demonstrate excellence in teaching mathematics. As I call your name, please come to the front of the room to be recognized by the Board:

  • Elementary School Level: Karen Hersey from Nicholson Elementary 
  • Middle School Level: Dora Brown from Palmer Middle School
  • Secondary School Level: Emily Freeman from Hillgrove High School



Georgia Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance (GAHPERD) Awards


The Georgia Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance (GAHPERD) honored three Cobb County educators with awards this year. The Georgia Association named South Cobb High School’s Kristen Cross, the K-12 Health Educator of the Year and also chose Mountain View Elementary Principal Dr. Renee Garriss as the Advocate of the Year. Kennesaw Elementary School’s Emily Adams received the third award—Elementary School Physical Education Teacher of the Year. I’m pleased to announce that The Society of Health and Physical Educators (SHAPE) also selected Emily Adams as the Elementary Physical Education Teacher of the Year for the Southern District.


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

GSPRA Gold Award “Active Shooter Denied” and MARCOM Platinum – Communications Team


I’m pleased to announce that our Communications Department has won two more communications awards. The department won the Gold Award from the Georgia School Public Relations Association for the “Active Shooter Denied” video produced by David Owen. “The Active Shooter Denied” video was also chosen out of 6,000 entries from 34 countries for the MarCOM Platinum Award. At this time I would like to invite the following members of the communications team to be recognized by the Board: David Owen, Lee Hill and Michele Mizzell. Ravi Narine and Kevin O’Shea are assisting with the broadcast of this meeting and so are unable to join us.



Congratulations again to all on their achievements. This concludes our recognitions for this evening. Thank you.