Board Recognitions – February 16, 2017

Note: The following photos were taken at the February 16, 2017, Cobb County School Board Meeting. CCSD Communications Director Donna Lowry presented these students and staff to the board for special recognition. A transcript of her comments are provided here to accompany the photos.

Donna Lowry: Thank you, Chairman Chastain, members of the Board, and Superintendent Ragsdale. Tonight, we have the pleasure of recognizing four state champion teams.


Class AAAAAA (6A) Girls Volleyball State Champions – Harrison High School

We begin with the Class 6A Harrison High School Girls Volleyball State Champions! The Hoyas finished the season ranked in the top 200 schools nationwide.

At this time, would Head Coach Amber McClure, Assistant Coach Kimberly Johnson and Harrison Assistant Principal and Athletic Director Matt Moody along with the Girls Volleyball state champions join the board at the front of the room.



Cobb STEM Certification

The Cobb STEM Certification process is designed to recognize schools, or programs within schools, that support quality STEM-enriched learning opportunities, as well as provide schools with clear guidelines and criteria to support them along their STEM journey.

We’re thrilled to announce that two new schools have received Cobb’s STEM Certification. Joining the schools as they are recognized tonight are: the Asst. Superintendent for Teaching & Learning, Jennifer Lawson; the Supervisor of STEM and Innovation, Dr. Sally Creel; CTAE Supervisor, Jackie Brown and Math Supervisor, Michelle Mikes.

The first school presented for board recognition for Cobb STEM Certification is Sope Creek Elementary School led by Principal Dr. Douglas Daugherty. Also here: Assistant Principals Karen Carstens and Cheri Vaniman; School Leadership Intern Kendra Brooks; and Special Student Services Administrator Judy Moschett.


The next recognition for Cobb STEM Certification is Mabry Middle School with Principal Merrilee Heflin and Assistant Principal Dr. Wendy Pettett.



Advanced Ed STEM Certification: Kennesaw Mountain High School

Next up, we honor Kennesaw Mountain High School for achieving AdvancedEd STEM certification. As the internationally recognized mark of quality for STEM schools and programs, the AdvancedED certification highlights Kennesaw Mountain’s commitment to STEM education and preparing students for future STEM careers.

At this time, we would like to invite Kennesaw Mountain Principal Dr. Mark Trachtenbroit and Magnet Coordinator Dr. Kelly Ingle to the front of the room for congratulations from the board.



National School Counselor Week Feb 6-10, 2017

The American School Counselor Association designated February 6-10 as National School Counseling Week. So, we would like to take this time to honor Cobb’s dedicated team of school counselors and recognize the tremendous impact they have in helping students achieve school and career success.

Our counselors help students realize their potential. We would now like to ask Counselor Supervisor Gail Smith and School Counseling and Advisement Consultant Julie Hartline to join the Board at the front of the room.

Elementary School Counselor of the Year: Michelle Stevens from Kemp Elementary School


Middle School Counselor of the Year: Lara Salzman from Hightower Trail Middle School


High School Counselor of the Year: Courtney Courtney from Osborne High School


Writer of the Year: Dr. Geraldine Bryant from Dowell Elementary School


Administrator of the Year: Althea Singletary from Varner Elementary School



American School Counselor Association RAMP

The American School Counselor Association (ASCA) has named three Cobb Schools as Recognized ASCA Model Programs, also known as RAMP programs. This designation indicates that school counseling teams are committed to student success by delivering comprehensive, data-driven programs.

Bryant Elementary School: The winning counselors are Palmetta Hodges and Carol May. Unfortunately, Carol May is unable to join us tonight. But, Principal Dr. Freda Williams is here to join in the recognition.


Kemp Elementary School’s Counseling Team are second time recipients of the RAMP award: Principal Shea Thomas, Assistant Principal Laura Fieldler, Assistant Principal Cissi Kale and Counselors Michelle Stevens and Jenni Briggs


This is the third time the Counseling Team at Sope Creek Elementary has received the RAMP Award: Principal Dr. Douglas Daugherty and counselors Jennifer Frederick, Elisabeth Hunt and Claire Murphy.