Shallowford Falls Elementary School Wins First Place at 2017 Georgia Science Olympiad

With a 46-point spread between them and the second place team, Shallowford Falls Elementary took home first place in the 2017 Georgia Elementary Science Olympiad (ESO) May 13th at Kennesaw State University.

The Georgia ESO is the largest Science Olympiad in the United States. This year’s competition challenged students from 67 teams in events that cover earth-, life- and physical- science topics. Each event aligned with Georgia Performance Standards. More than 1,300 students competed in all-day events ranging from bridge building to wildlife safari.

“It is a great reflection of our awesome school to win such a prestigious contest amongst the strongest Science Olympiad teams in the entire state,” said Shallowford Falls Science Olympiad head coach, Kimeron Puckett.

Puckett recognized that this year’s team was exceptional back in October 2016 during their initial meeting.

“These kids and their motivation are off the charts! It is so awesome to see so many kids excited about science,” Puckett added. “I think all of this has a lot to do with the science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) initiative throughout the elementary schools in Cobb County.”

Shallowford Falls also captured first place in the 2017 Cobb County Science Olympiad competition March 25th at Walton High School.

Shallowford Falls team members include: fifth graders, Victoria Domato, Alex Flores, Matthew Lahti, Elina Natu, Jay Natu, Ayaan Siddique, Evan Watson and Kelly Wu; fourth graders; Declan Amerault, Reina Anand, Dagmawi Faskika, Gray Harris, Rahul Kudva, Steven Li, Kiefer Morin and Kaitlyn Sung; and third graders, Cate Doenitz, Leonardo Domato, Luke Lee, and Andrew Worly.

The Shallowford Falls Science Olympiad coaches dedicated much of their personal time to help the team succeed. Shallowford Falls staff member coaches include: Principal Felicia Angelle; fifth grade teachers, Kristen Muller and Amanda Floyd; fourth grade teachers, Kimeron Puckette and Lindsey Drew; third grade teacher Amy Alfonso; second grade teachers, Leah Wilson and Ivy Josset; first grade teachers, Candice Davies, Michele Provost and Diane Marco; art teacher, Carly Lyon; STEM lab specialist, Catherine Mills; speech/language pathologist, Patricia Taylor; and teacher Chelsea Chandler.

The parent coaches included: Carlos Domato, Michelle Domato, Andy Flores, Elizabeth Flores, Rahel Getahun, Fasika Yigezu, Julie Lahti, Mirna Lee, Abhijit Natu, Jon Worly and Julie Worly.