American School Counselor Association Names 8 CCSD Schools 2017 RAMP Schools

During a ceremony in Denver, Colorado, the American School Counselor Association awarded the Recognized ASCA Model Program (RAMP) designation to eight schools in the Cobb County School District. This award honors schools for making an exemplary commitment to comprehensive school counseling programs.

The RAMP designation, awarded for aligning with the criteria in the ASCA National Model, recognizes schools that are committed to delivering a comprehensive, data- driven school counseling program and an exemplary educational environment. Since the program’s inception, more than 700 schools have been designated as RAMP recipients.

With 18 RAMP schools, Georgia achieved the most RAMP designated schools in 2017. CCSD accounted for eight of the Georgia Ramp schools, which is more than the number of RAMP schools earned in the entire state of Kentucky.

The RAMP designation is good for five years, after which time schools must reapply to maintain their RAMP status.

“This year’s RAMP honorees have shown their commitment to students and the school counseling profession,” said Jill Cook, ASCA assistant director. “These schools used data to drive their program development and implementation so all students can achieve success. RAMP designation distinguishes these schools and encourages school counselors nationwide to strive for excellence.”

CCSD Schools Certified as 2017 RAMP Schools:

  • Bryant Elementary School
  • Kemp Elementary School
  • Smyrna Elementary School
  • Sope Creek Elementary School
  • Bethel Elementary School
  • Hightower Trail Middle School
  • Osborne High School
  • Kell High School