State School Superintendent Richard Woods Names 6 CCSD Students to Advisory Councils

State School Superintendent Richard Woods selected 142 Georgia students to serve on his 2017-2018 Student Advisory Council. Six of those students will represent the Cobb County School District (CCSD), split evenly between the middle school advisory council and the high school advisory council. The CCSD students on the council attend Griffin Middle School, Lovinggood Middle School, Dickerson Middle School, Pebblebrook High School, Walton High School, and Kennesaw Mountain High School.

Throughout the school year, these middle and high school students will meet with Superintendent Woods to discuss the impact of state policies in the classroom. Members of the Student Advisory Council will also discuss other issues related to education, serve as the Superintendent’s ambassadors to their respective schools, and participate in service projects to benefit schools and students.

“Every year, it is so valuable to hear directly from students through my Student Advisory Council,” Superintendent Woods said. “In the past, we have made direct changes based on student feedback, and I look forward to working with these 142 students who I know will make an impact. I’m so grateful for every student who took the time to apply and share their thoughts.”

Members were selected from a pool of more than 1,500 students who applied to serve on the council. Students were chosen based on the strength of their essay answers, which focused on their ideas for public education as well as their community service experience. The selected students attend public schools all over the state.

Meetings of the Student Advisory Council will be held October 3, January 16, and April 10 for middle school students and October 4, January 17, and April 11 for high school students.

2017-2018 Student Advisory Council – Middle School

  • Palyce Berrian, Lovinggood Middle School
  • Zechariah Fuller, Dickerson Middle School
  • Foster Johnson, Griffin Middle School

2017-2018 Student Advisory Council – High School

  • Ryan Cobelli, Kennesaw Mountain High School
  • Nidhi Manikkoth, Walton High School
  • Jayla Pullen, Pebblebrook High School