Cobb Schools Host Stop the Bleed Training

Cobb County School District staff members practice what they learned during the Stop the Bleed training class at the district’s central office March 5.

In an effort to raise awareness and educate staff to respond in the event of an emergency, the Cobb County School District (CCSD) is holding Stop the Bleed training classes in March. National Stop the Bleed Day is March 31.

Stop the Bleed is a free training program created by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS), in conjunction with Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and various other agencies, to train bystanders in life-saving techniques. During the CCSD Stop the Bleed training, school staff members practice what they learn in the class by wound packing and applying tourniquets. 

According to CCSD Nursing Supervisor Melanie Bales, research has shown that bystanders, with little or no medical training, can become heroic lifesavers. Similar to the use of CPR or automatic defibrillators (AED), improving public awareness about how to stop severe bleeding can be the difference between life and death for an injured person.

“No matter how rapid the arrival of professional emergency responders, bystanders will always be first on the scene,” the DHS Stop the Bleed website states. “A person who is bleeding can die from blood loss within five minutes, therefore it is important to quickly stop the blood loss. Those nearest to someone with life threatening injuries are best positioned to provide first care.”

The Georgia Trauma Commission will provide 10 Stop the Bleed kits to every public school in the state of Georgia that has staff members complete the training.

To kick off the month of training, CCSD held training in the boardroom for approximately 16 central office staff. During March, groups of 60 to 100 staff members have also attended training events at the following 12 hub locations:

  • Cheatham Hill Elementary School
  • Hendricks Elementary School
  • Smyrna Elementary School
  • Griffin Middle School
  • Lost Mountain Middle School
  • Kennesaw Mountain High School
  • North Cobb High School
  • Pebblebrook High School
  • Pope High School
  • South Cobb High School
  • Sprayberry High School
  • Walton High School

The staff at these 13 Cobb schools are already trained and have Stop the Bleed kits:

  • Acworth Elementary School
  • Chalker Elementary School
  • Cheatham Hill Elementary School
  • Eastside Elementary School
  • Lewis Elementary School
  • Nickajack Elementary School
  • Pickett’s Mill Elementary School
  • Sanders Elementary School
  • Tritt Elementary School
  • Dodgen Middle School
  • East Cobb Middle School
  • Allatoona High School
  • Lassiter High School