Superintendent Woods Names 15 Cobb Students 2018 Georgia Scholars

The Georgia Department of Education recently recognized 15 Cobb County School District (CCSD) seniors as 2018 Georgia Scholars. Five of the students attend Walton High School and an additional four students represent Hillgrove High School. The remaining Georgia Scholars from Cobb attend Harrison High School, Lassiter High School, Pope High School, and Wheeler High School.

Cobb tied with another school district for the second highest number of scholars in the state of Georgia.

Through the Georgia Scholar program, the Georgia Department of Education identifies and honors high school seniors who have achieved excellence in school and community life. Students eligible for Georgia Scholar recognition are high school seniors who exhibit excellence in all phases of school life, in community activities, and in the home.

Georgia Scholars are students who have carried exemplary course loads during their four years of high school; who performed excellently in all courses; who successfully participated in interscholastic events at their schools and in their communities; and who have assumed active roles in extracurricular activities sponsored by their schools. Each Georgia Scholar receives a seal for his or her diploma.

“Students receiving the Georgia Scholar recognition are truly well-rounded,” Superintendent Woods said. “They’ve engaged in extracurriculars, worked hard in a broad range of academic subjects, served their communities, and grown as leaders. A true education encompasses more than just the traditional ‘core’ subjects, and these students exemplify that.”

2018 Georgia Scholars from the Cobb County School District:

Jadyn Sethna Harrison High School
Nichole Beck Hillgrove High School
Hamna Khan Hillgrove High School
Audrey Knowles Hillgrove High School
Abigail Robertson Hillgrove High School
Taylor Van Horn Lassiter High School
Belaine Jones Pope High School
Hisham Kashif Pope High School
Loren Tsang Pope High School
Ekta Deshmukh Walton High School
Daniel Hudadoff Walton High School
Madelyn Johnson Walton High School
Laura Key Walton High School
Adarshini Raja Walton High School
MJ Lock Wheeler High School