Cobb Schools, Teachers Recognized for Keeping Cobb Green

Together hundreds of teachers dedicated thousands of hours to educating their students about the conservation, preservation, and beautification of the environment.

For their work, the Cobb teachers and their schools earned recognition from the Green School Initiative, a program of the Cobb County Water System, Watershed Education and Water Efficiency Programs, Cobb County Parks and Recreation Natural Resources Unit, and the Keep Cobb Beautiful Program.

The Green School Initiative, which is in its 11th year, honors Cobb County schools that have an active environmental education program. It also encourages other schools to develop environmentally-based education initiatives.

The program honored 30 schools in the Cobb County School District (CCSD) with the Green School designation for the 2017-2018 school year. These designations represent the work of more than 500 teachers and over 5,000 hours of environmental education.

This year, McCall Primary earned the Green Innovation Award, which recognizes a school that has gone above and beyond the basic requirements of the Green School Initiative to create an innovative environmental program for its students.

To engage kindergarten and first grade students in an environmental cause, McCall Primary turned to their mascot, the Monarch Butterfly. The school’s butterfly garden, which was started to line up with the students’ standards, has grown to include flowers, vegetables, and herbs.  In addition to supporting the Green School Initiative, the garden helps the McCall students learn the vital role plants have in meeting the needs of various animals and people.

25 CCSD Schools Received Gold Status Designation (at least 15 green teachers required):

Addison Elementary  Ford Elementary
 Baker Elementary  Hillgrove High
 Belmont Hills Elementary  Keheley Elementary
 Big Shanty Elementary  King Springs Elementary
 Blackwell Elementary  Lewis Elementary
 Bullard Elementary  McCall Elementary
 Chalker Elementary  Murdock Elementary
 Still Elementary  Nickajack Elementary
 Cheatham Hill Elementary  Pickett’s Mill Elementary
 Davis Elementary  Pitner Elementary
 Due West Elementary  Russell Elementary
Timber Ridge Elementary Tritt Elementary
Vaughan Elementary

Six CCSD Schools Received Silver Status Designation (at least 10 green teachers required):

Bells Ferry Elementary  Green Acres Elementary
 Daniell Middle  McCleskey Middle
 Fair Oaks Elementary Mount Bethel Elementary


Two CCSD Schools Received Green Status Designation (at least five green teachers):

Lovinggood Middle Pine Mountain Middle