CTAE Recognizes Career Tech Students with Oscars-Like Awards Night

Just like celebrities do for the Academy Awards, a select group of Cobb County School District (CCSD) high school and middle school students walked the red carpet toward an Oscars-like Awards Night. The CCSD Career, Technical, and Agricultural Education (CTAE) Department sponsored the inaugural awards night held at Kennesaw Mountain High School to celebrate the success of students in the career tech pathway.

According to the high school coordinator, Dr. Beverly Holyfield, it was truly an evening to remember.

“Several CTAE Culinary programs provided delicious appetizers and refreshments for the hospitality room and the reception that followed the conclusion of the event,” Dr. Holyfield added. “In addition, audio, video technology, and film students displayed their talent by recording and producing a video that captured the essence of the event.”

Large movie-style posters, which displayed the skillset of CTAE graphics students, promoted the students being recognized as their high school’s CTAE Student of the Year. Of those students, Austin Cline of Kell High School was named the District’s CTAE Student of the Year.

The inaugural CTAE Awards Night also celebrated Sprayberry High School’s Shannon Shaw as the CTAE Teacher of the Year.

The District Youth Apprenticeship Student of the Year, Courtney Windham of McEachern High School, and the District Middle School Student of the Year, Mia Clark of McClure Middle School, were also recognized. Delta Community Credit Union earned praise as CTAE’s Business Partner of the Year while Chattahoochee Technical College went home with the Post-Secondary Partner of the Year award.

During his keynote speech, Matt Pearl, Chief of Storytelling and Development for WXIA-TV, encouraged the students to “think big, start small, act now!”

CTAE High School Students of the Year:

Victoria Crosby Allatoona High School
Danique Holt Campbell High School
Morgan Hines Harrison High School
Jordan Rivers Hillgrove High School
Austin Cline Kell High School
Valarie Gore Kennesaw High School
Hunter Peterson Lassiter High School
Courtney Windham McEachern High School
Mahmoud Abusaid North Cobb High School
Ashley Mendoza Osborne High School
Estefany Gonzalez Pebblebrook High School
Taniah Huggins South Cobb High School
Shivani Patel Sprayberry High School
Laney Jones Walton High School
Hannah Obenhoff Wheeler High School


Youth Apprenticeship Students of the Year:

Madelyn Handy Kell High School
Courtney Windham McEachern High School
Nolan Moore North Cobb High School
Hoang (Olivia) Nguyen Sprayberry High School


CTAE Middle School Students of the Year:

Muhammad Ali Awtrey Middle School
Kiyah Smith Campbell Middle School
Matthias Keys Cooper Middle School
Theodore Parker Daniell Middle School
Scott Dobo Dodgen Middle School
Latasia Neal East Cobb Middle School
Aalyah Ramirez Griffin Middle School
Zion Turner Lindley Middle School
Bria Collins Lovinggood Middle School
Anna Sorckoff Mabry Middle School
Nathaniel Gant McCleskey Middle School
Mia Clark McClure Middle School
Rameen Talha Pine Mountain Middle School
Eniola Badejo Smitha Middle School
Giselle Calderon Tapp Middle School