Cobb Schools Transportation Department Wins Top Awards, Again

Members of the Cobb County School District Transportation Department attend the Georgia Association for Pupil Transportation event in Warner Robbins, Georgia in June.

They’re responsible for safely transporting the majority of Cobb County School District students to and from school each day. They’re the first school staff members to greet most students every morning, and often times, the last, and once again, Cobb’s Transportation Department has shown why its fleet of yellow buses is miles ahead of the rest.

Eleven-year veteran bus driver Meredith Banks won first place in the Georgia Association for Pupil Transportation’s (GAPT) School Bus Safety Competition. Next, Banks will represent Georgia in the School Bus Driver International Safety Competition, which is sponsored by the National School Transportation Association (NSTA), July 21-22 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

For the past three years, Georgia’s 2018 State Champion has helped lead Cobb’s student safety education program, Safe, Orderly, and Respectful (SOAR).

Not only did Cobb claim first place in the bus Safety RoadEO Competition, but Cobb’s Michael Graham is also the Georgia State Runner-Up. Graham has been Cobb’s champion for eight consecutive years.

In the special needs competition, Cobb driver Amy Clanton and bus monitor Tiki Neeley won third place. Another Cobb team, Jodi Nellis-Villabos and Bonnie Burrell, placed among the top ten special needs teams in the state safety competition.

Cobb’s Transportation Department staff are no strangers to the winner’s circle at the state bus competitions. Cobb’s team has ranked in the top three in the regular education competition for a decade. They’ve also finished in the top three in the special education competition for the past four years.

Last year, Cobb’s Jeremiah Bradberry won GAPT’s Technician of the Year. Bradberry also went on to win America’s Best Technician award from the National Association of Pupil Transportation.