District Honors Support Staff With Classified Employee Awards


Classified Employees of the Year Deborah Buckley, David Hugg, Tony Conner and Sandra Collins were honored during a special luncheon.

The Cobb County School District and the Cobb Schools Foundation announced the 2010 Classified Employee of the Year awards during the 6th annual celebratory luncheon Sept. 14. The awards honor three school professionals at each academic level, as well as a support professional from one of the District’s operational divisions, that have made significant contributions to his or her school.

Honorees from each school and facility joined members of the Board of Education and District officials at NorthStar Church in Kennesaw, where Superintendent Fred Sanderson announced the District-level award winners. The 2010 School Professional of the Year winners are Deborah Buckley, media paraprofessional at Shallowford Falls Elementary; David Hugg, head custodian at McClure Middle, and Sandra Collins, school secretary at Harrison High. The 2010 Support Professional of the Year is Tony Conner, technology services specialist for Food & Nutrition Services.

All four Classified Employees of the Year were welcomed at the ceremony by the Board of Education, Superintendent Fred Sanderson, and representatives from the Cobb Schools Foundation. Each winner receives a commemorative crystal bowl, as well as a cash award from the Foundation.