Cobb Students Shine as 2019 STAR Students 

Twenty-three of the top performing high school seniors in the Cobb County School District were recognized Monday as their school’s STAR student(s). The 52nd annual STAR Student and Teacher banquet was sponsored by the Kiwanis Club of Metro-Marietta and Professional Association of Georgia Educators. 

Since its creation, the Student Teacher Achievement Recognition (STAR) has honored tens of thousands of students from each Georgia public and private high school. The 2019 STAR Students stood out for having the highest SAT score on a single test and also having a grade point average in the top 10 percent of their graduating class. Several Cobb students tied for the STAR student recognition at their school and so share the honor for 2019 

Crowning them STAR Teachers, each STAR Student invited the one teacher who they credited with having the single biggest impact on their academic accomplishments 

“We are proud of our high-achieving STAR Students and their commitment to their education, and we are thankful for all the teachers who have been instrumental in helping our STAR students shine. To our STAR teachers, your positive impact on students will be felt for years to come,” said Cobb Superintendent Chris Ragsdale.  

Superintendent Ragsdale and several Cobb Schools Board of Education members attended the spotlight event to help recognize the District’s outstanding STARS. The Board members in attendance include Randy Scamihorn (Post 1); David Chastain (Post 5); David Banks (Post 6); and Brad Wheeler (Post 7).  

Later in March, Cobb’s 2019 STAR students will compete against the students from the north metro Atlanta region for the chance to advance to state.  

Cobb County School District 2019 STAR Students and Teachers: 

    School                                                STAR Student              STAR Teacher 

Allatoona High School  Heather Sendall  Neisha Williams 
Campbell High School  Grace Li  Melyn Roberson 
Harrison High School  Harrison Smith  Monica Doriney 
Hillgrove High School  Brooke Hansbrough  Michael Tydings 
Kell High School *  Anabelle Colmenares  Davan Silva 
Kell High School *  Reilly McLean  Lauren Forbes 
Kennesaw Mountain High School *   Nick Dentice  Eden Hunt 
Kennesaw Mountain High School *  Dorian Kidonakis  Angela Wood 
Kennesaw Mountain High School *  Lily Kim  Joanne Jezequel 
Kennesaw Mountain High School *  Emily Williams  Michael Huebner 
Lassiter High School  Peter Jacobson  Dianne Adams 
McEachern High School  Jarah Cotton  Beth Amacher 
North Cobb High School  Rebekah Geil  Deepa Stephen 
Osborne High School  Jocelynn Galvan  Antoinette McGarey 
Pebblebrook High School  Martin Vershel  Frank Timmerman 
Pope High School  Hannah Rose Grant  Luisa Munar 
South Cobb High School  Kevin Homer  Eduardo Ramos 
Sprayberry High School  Yllona Coronado  Scott Grant 
Walton High school *  William Ellsworth  Doug Wolfe 
Walton High school *  Albert Tingand  Brian Wilson 
Walton High school *  Jayson Wu  Laura Speer 
Wheeler High School *  Andrew Koo  Nicole Ice 
Wheeler High School *   Daniel Zhou  Susan Phillips 

*Indicates a Star Student tie