Cobb County Celebrates School Counselors 

The Cobb County School District, along with Marietta City Schools and the Cobb School Counseling Association recently joined together to recognize the dedicated school counselors who play a significant role in student success. 

During the professional recognition event, Cobb Schools Superintendent Chris Ragsdale paid tribute to the school counselors. 

School Counselors play a pivotal role on our team. Our principals, teachers, parents, and students rely on our school counselors each and every day, and our school district would not be as successful without the valuable support of our counseling staff. Thank you for all that you do, and congratulations to all the new award recipients and Counselors of the Year, said Superintendent Ragsdale. 

In Cobb Schools over the past school year, one counselor started a language fair for parents to interact with college representatives in their own language so they could better support their children as they navigate the college admission process. Another school counselor held a suicide prevention program where 150 support staff underwent training on how to recognize when a student is in distress and how to provide help to the student. Other counselors helped Cobb students and their families when their house burned down, they needed food or clothes or just needed someone to listen. 

We can and do make a difference, one day at a time, one student at a time, one intervention at a time. One person can make a difference and everyone should try,” Dr. Melisa Marsh, Cobb Schools Counseling Supervisor, told the Cobb counselors. 

School counselors lighten the burden on students, help students and their families face crises, provide preventive resources for mental health, and ultimately prepare students to walk across the stage at graduation. There are some school counselors who stand out for their impact on students and for that they earned the title of Counselors of the Year: 

  • Elementary School Counselor the Year- Mandy Ruddell, Ford Elementary 
  • Middle School Counselor of the Year- Cayce Pope, Daniel Middle School 
  • High School Counselor of the Year- Patty DaSilva, Pope High School 

The school counselors also recognized the support of the Administrator of the Year, Paul Gillihan, principal of Griffin Middle School. In addition, they honored Ebony Payno, Cobb Horizon High School, as the Writer of the Year, and Sherri Hill, Cobb Schools Chief School Leadership Officer, as the Advocacy Award Winner. 

The American School Counselor Association named three Cobb Schools Recognized ASCA Model Programs, also known as RAMP programs. This designation indicates that school counseling teams are committed to student success by delivering comprehensive, data-driven programs. Those three schools were honored at the School Counseling luncheon:  

  • Griffin Middle School 
  • McClure Middle School 
  • Powder Springs Elementary School 

In addition to all those honored at the School Counselors event, Kemp Elementary School’s Michelle Stevens was recently named 2019 Georgia School Counselor of the Year.