14 Cobb Students Earn $2500 National Merit Scholarships; 6 Cobb Students Win Corporate-Sponsored Merit Scholarships 

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) recently announced this year’s National Merit $2500 Scholarship winners. This year’s elite group of National Merit Scholars includes 14 students from the Cobb County School District. Walton High School and Wheeler High School have the most National Merit Scholars with five scholars and four scholars respectively. The other National Merit Scholars are seniors at Campbell High SchoolKennesaw Mountain High SchoolLassiter High School, and North Cobb High School 

The 2,500 Merit Scholar designees were chosen from a talent pool of more than 15,000 outstanding Finalists in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program. National Merit $2500 Scholarship winners are the Finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. The number of winners named in each state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the nation’s graduating high school seniors. These Scholars were selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors, who appraised a substantial amount of information submitted by both the Finalists and their high schools: the academic record, including difficulty level of subjects, studied and grades earned; scores from two standardized tests; contributions and leadership in school and community activities; an essay written by the Finalist; and a recommendation written by a high school official.  

This is the second announcement of winners in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program. Previously, the program announced the names of six Cobb students as recipients of corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awardsKennesaw Mountain High School and Wheeler High School each had two corporate scholars. Campbell High School and Walton High School also have students who earned National Merit Corporate-Sponsored Scholarships.  

More than 1,000 distinguished high school seniors won corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarship awards financed by about 160 corporations, company foundations, and other business organizations.  

Most of these awards are renewable for up to four years of college undergraduate study and provide annual stipends that range from $500 to $10,000 per year. Some provide a single payment between $2,500 and $5,000. Recipients can use their awards at any regionally accredited U.S. college or university of their choice. 

In June and July, an additional 4,100 college-sponsored Merit Scholarship winners from around the country will be announced. By the conclusion of this year’s competition, about 7,600 academic champions will have won National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million. 

This year’s National Merit Scholarship Program began in October 2017 when over 1.6 million juniors in approximately 22,000 high schools took the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants.  

Last fall, the highest-scoring participants in each state, representing less than one percent of the nation’s high school seniors, were named Semifinalists on a state representational basis. Only these 16,000 Semifinalists had an opportunity to continue in the competition. From the Semifinalist group, some 15,000 students met the very high academic standards and other requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition.  

Cobb Schools $2,500 National Merit Scholarship Winners: 

Campbell High School  Alexander R. Eaton 
Campbell High School  Kiran Gourisankar 
Kennesaw Mountain High School  Christina M. Woodrow 
Lassiter High School  Dennis G. Goldenberg 
North Cobb High School  Rebekah R. Geil 
Walton High School  William Ellsworth 
Walton High School  Vineet Gangireddy 
Walton High School  Nicholas Hong 
Walton High School  Ryan Li 
Walton High School  Grace Xu 
Wheeler High School  Fianko Buckle 
Wheeler High School  Caden M. Felton 
Wheeler High School  Arya N. Mevada 
Wheeler High School  Keshav K. Shenoy 


Cobb Schools Corporate-Sponsored Merit Scholarship Winners: 

Campbell High School  Tarannum Lakdawala 
Kennesaw Mountain High School  Emily K. Williams 
Kennesaw Mountain High School  Grant Gilcrease 
Walton High School  Eashan Gandotra 
Wheeler High School  Mariah K. Butts 
Wheeler High School  Zachary R. Yahn