18 Cobb Students Awarded College-Sponsored National Merit Scholarships 

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) recently announced the names of 18 students from the Cobb County School District who earned National Merit Scholarships financed by U.S. colleges and universities. The Cobb National Merit Scholars include students from Campbell High School, Kennesaw Mountain High School, Lassiter High School, Pope High School, Walton High School, and Wheeler High School. 

Officials of each sponsor college selected their scholarship winners from among the Finalists in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.  

This year, 173 higher education institutions are underwriting Merit Scholarship awards through the National Merit Scholarship Program. Sponsor colleges and universities include 95 private and 78 public institutions located in 43 states and the District of Columbia. 

The College-sponsored Merit Scholarship winners are a part of the distinguished group of about 7,600 high school seniors who will receive National Merit Scholarships for college undergraduate study worth over $31 million. Earlier this spring, NMSC named 6 Cobb students as winners of the corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship and 14 Cobb students as winners of the National Merit $2500 Scholarship.  

An additional group of Scholars will be announced in July, bringing the total number of college-sponsored Merit Scholarship recipients in the 2019 competition to about 4,100. 

This year’s National Merit Scholarship Program began in October 2017 when over 1.6 million juniors in approximately 22,000 high schools took the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants.   

Last fall, the highest-scoring participants in each state, representing less than one percent of the nation’s high school seniors, were named Semifinalists on a state representational basis. Only these 16,000 Semifinalists had an opportunity to continue in the competition. From the Semifinalist group, some 15,000 students met the very high academic standards and other requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition.   

Cobb Schools College-Sponsored National Merit Scholarship Winners: 

Avery R. Bradley  Campbell High School 
Tylar P. Gregg  Kennesaw Mountain High School 
Lily H. Kim  Kennesaw Mountain High School 
Joshua R. Vollbracht  Kennesaw Mountain High School 
Carter Brent Johnson  Lassiter High School 
Delia K. Pung  Lassiter High School 
Griffin W. Haarbauer  Pope High School 
Maya Nambiar  Pope High School 
Thomas DeBoer  Walton High School 
Ava Sophia Edmunds  Walton High School 
Emma Allison Hunt  Walton High School 
Anika Park  Walton High School 
David Phillips  Walton High School 
Varsha Ramachandra  Walton High School 
Illahi S. Virani  Walton High School 
Andrew J. Mayne  Wheeler High School 
Rebecca G. Simonson  Wheeler High School 
Hanna E. Waltz  Wheeler High School