Hillgrove High School Teacher Named Finalist for National Mathematics Award

It’s one of the highest honors a math teacher can earn, and a Cobb Schools math teacher is one step closer to winning the national award.  

Hillgrove High School’s Julie Pinto is one of three finalists for the 2019 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. She is representing the Cobb County School District as a 2019 State Finalist for the 7-12 Mathematics award. Congress established the presidential award in 1983. The annual award is designed to recognize up to 108 exemplary teachers in the fields of science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and computer science. 

The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) are the highest honors bestowed by the United States government specifically for K-12 science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science teaching. The Awards were established by Congress in 1983. The President may recognize up to 108 exemplary teachers each year. 

Award recipients not only have a deep content knowledge of their academic subjects, but they are also able to motivate and inspire students in their subject area.  

Pinto, who is in her 18th year of teaching high school mathematics, shares what she has learned from her years in Cobb with fellow educators around the state and across the country.  

If Pinto wins the presidential award at the national level, she will receive a certificate signed by the President of the United States and a $10,000 from the National Science Foundation. Award winners are honored at a ceremony in Washington, D.C. and participate in events that include professional development opportunities and discussions with policy-makers on how to improve science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.  

This is not the first time Cobb Schools’ teachers have been recognized for their high achievement. Lassiter High School teacher Debbie Poss won the national award in 2001 and Murray Siegel of Walton High School won the presidential honor in 1986.  

Related News: 

Wheeler High School Teacher Wins Georgia Council of Teachers of Mathematics Award 

Hillgrove High School Band Marches Out Hunger