Superintendent Ragsdale Announces Opening of Two New Pre-K Centers

Starting in August 2020, assuming the State of Georgia approves a recent application, Cobb Schools will have its own Pre-K center, Superintendent Chris Ragsdale announced during the District’s Board of Education meeting on January 16. A second will open during the fall of 2021.

“I am excited about supporting early learning for even more Cobb students,” said Superintendent Chris Ragsdale. “Our early literacy initiative has shown great results over the last 3 years in more than 12 of our elementary schools. Through these two Centers we will be able to support even more students to read on grade level by third grade.”

The Cobb Schools Pre-K center will be housed on the current campus of Harmony-Leland Elementary School, which will transition this year to the newly built and Ed-SPLOST-funded Clay-Harmony Leland Elementary School. In addition, scheduled for completion in August of 2021, Superintendent Ragsdale also announced the District will be opening a second Pre-K center at the location of the now-closed Brown Elementary in Smyrna.

The new Pre-K center at Harmony Leland will serve approximately 250-300 students from the surrounding community. The facility will include four general education classrooms plus 10 special education classrooms, which are currently operating in neighborhood schools. 

The Pre-K centers are being built in partnership with the Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning (DECAL), the Atlanta Speech School, WellStar, and Learn4Life. More details on the program including registration information will be available later this spring after the program is officially approved by DECAL.  

In addition to the announcement regarding the Pre-K Center, the Board also learned more about Cobb’s focus on social and emotional learning to advance student success.  

Read about examples of how Cobb Cares for student’s social and emotional needs here.  

Georgia Gov. Brian Kemp’s proposal to give every teacher a $2,000 pay was another topic mentioned by Superintendent Ragsdale.

“We are thankful to Gov. Kemp for prioritizing our teachers again this year. It’s encouraging to see our leaders understanding what we in Cobb have known for years – supporting good teachers is the single most effective tool at our disposal to ensure student success,” said Superintendent Ragsdale.

Superintendent Ragsdale and the Board also congratulated the Cobb Schools who “Beat the Odds” according to the Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement, which compares the CCRPI scores with similar schools across the state.  

The following schools “Beat the Odds”  

Allatoona High School 
Argyle Elementary School 
Clarkdale Elementary School 
Clay Elementary School 
Compton Elementary School 
Cooper Middle School 
Daniell Middle School 
East Cobb Middle School 
Garrett Middle School 
Griffin Middle School 
Harrison High School 
Hendricks Elementary School 
Hightower Trail Middle School 
Hillgrove High School 
Kemp Elementary School 
Kennesaw Mountain High School 
LaBelle Elementary School 
Lassiter High School 
Lindley 6th Grade Academy 
McEachern High School 
Milford Elementary School 
Mountain View Elementary School 
Norton Park Elementary School 
Palmer Middle School 
Pickett’s Mill Elementary 
Powder Springs Elementary School 
Sanders Elementary School 
Simpson Middle School 
Smitha Middle School 
South Cobb High School 
Tapp Middle School 
Timber Ridge Elementary School 
Walton High School 
Wheeler High School