Superintendent Woods Names 23 Cobb Seniors 2020 Georgia Scholars

State School Superintendent Richard Woods recently announced the names of the 2020 Georgia Scholars, which includes 23 students from Cobb Schools. In total, there were only 295 graduating seniors recognized as 2020 Georgia Scholars statewide.  

The Georgia Scholars from Cobb represent the following schools: Allatoona High School, Harrison High School, Hillgrove High School, Kell High School, Kennesaw Mountain High School, Lassiter High School, Pope High School, Sprayberry High School, and Walton High School.  

Through the Georgia Scholar program, the Georgia Department of Education identifies and honors high school seniors who have achieved excellence in school and community life. Students eligible for Georgia Scholar recognition are high school seniors who exhibit excellence in all phases of school life, in community activities, and in the home.  

These students have carried exemplary course loads during their four years of high school; performed excellently in all courses; successfully participated in interscholastic events at their schools and in their communities; and have assumed roles in extracurricular activities sponsored by their schools. Each Georgia Scholar receives a seal for his or her diploma.  

“It is always special to recognize a new class of Georgia Scholars, but I have to say it is even more meaningful to recognize these students from the class of 2020,” Superintendent Woods said. “In the face of disappointing circumstances and delayed plans, these students have displayed great resilience, maturity, and grace. I am honored to recognize their accomplishments and wish them well as they proceed into futures that, despite this temporary setback, are still worthy of great hope.”  

The Georgia Scholar program is coordinated by GaDOE’s Excellence Recognition office and through local coordinators in each public school system and private schools throughout the state.  

2020 Georgia Scholars 

Allatoona High School Nia George 
Allatoona High School Austin Klepper 
Harrison High School Anna Brackett 
Harrison High School Alexandra Parsons 
Harrison High School Phillip Surratt 
Harrison High School Mallory Kiger 
Hillgrove High School Sierra Wehrenberg 
Hillgrove High School Mollie Robertson 
Hillgrove High School Jennifer Harnage 
Hillgrove High School Evan Montoya 
Kell High School Kyle Kunberger 
Kennesaw Mountain High School Javier Rodriguez 
Lassiter High School Shail Patel 
Lassiter High School Emma Sorckoff 
Pope High School Olivia Davie 
Pope High School Amal Chaudry 
Pope High School Ian Bugbee 
Sprayberry High School Jenna Holton 
Walton High School Ursula Cole 
Walton High School Helen Liu 
Walton High School Maya Topiwala 
Walton High School Wyatt Pitts 
Walton High School Anant Rajan 

Related News: 

Cobb Seniors Pick up Caps and Gowns 

Two Walton High School Students Named Presidential Scholar Semifinalists 

Five Cobb Students Named Winners of Corporate-Sponsored National Merit Scholarships