3 Additional Cobb Students Named National Merit College-sponsored Scholarship Winners

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) recently announced the names of over 650 additional winners of this year’s National Merit Scholarships financed by U.S. colleges and universities. The list of scholars includes 13 students from Georgia and three students from Walton High School. This group of Merit Scholar designees joins the list of 16 Cobb students who were named college-sponsored award recipients in a June announcement. 

Officials of each sponsor college selected their scholarship winners from among the finalists in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.  

This year, 167 higher education institutions are underwriting Merit Scholarship awards through the National Merit Scholarship Program. Sponsor colleges and universities include 92 private and 75 public institutions located in 43 states and the District of Columbia.  

Earlier this spring, NMSC announced winners of corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards and National Merit $2500 Scholarships.  

In April, five Cobb students were named winners of the Corporate-Sponsored National Merit Scholarships.    

In May, 7 Cobb students were named National Merit $2500 Scholarship winners.   

This year’s National Merit Scholarship Program began in October 2018 when over 1.5 million juniors in approximately 21,000 high schools took the PSAT/NMSQT, which served as an initial screen of program entrants. Last fall, the highest-scoring participants in each state, representing less than one percent of the nation’s high school seniors, were named Semifinalists on a state’s representational basis. Only these 16,000 Semifinalists had an opportunity to continue in the competition.   

From the Semifinalist group, some 15,000 students met the very high academic standards and other requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. By the conclusion of the 2020 program, about 7,600 Finalists will have earned the “Merit Scholar” title and received a total of over $30 million in college scholarships.   

NMSC, a not-for-profit corporation that operates without government assistance, was founded in 1955 specifically to conduct the National Merit Scholarship Program. The majority of scholarships offered each year are underwritten by approximately 400 independent corporate and college sponsors that share NMSC’s goals of honoring scholastically talented youth and encouraging academic excellence at all levels of education.   

Cobb Schools Additional College-Sponsored National Merit Scholars:  

Student Name School Probable Career Field College-Sponsored Scholarship 
Daniel Catanese Walton High School Music University of Georgia 
Guy J. Kemelmakher Walton High School Mechanical Engineering University of Georgia 
Erik Pitts Walton High School Business Texas A&M University 

Related News: 

Linda B Keeney Scholarship Award to King Springs Elementary Alum 

Fifth Third Bank Awards Scholarship to Campbell High School Student 

Cobb Schools Earn State Award for Creative Arts Integration, Serve as Model for Other Schools