Cobb Students Reel In Awards During Short Movie Extravaganza

The third annual Cobb County Short Movie Extravaganza was held on Nov. 3 at Hillgrove High School. Twenty-six films were submitted from eight area high schools. This competition is an extended version of the 48 Film Festival and the Apple Insomnia Film Festival where the participants are given a specific character name, prop, and line that must be used in the film. The groups then must draw blindly a genre on which to base their videos that must be planned, shot, edited, and submitted in only a week. Judges from the industry including college students, professors, actors, independent film makers, and CNN employees independently evaluate and score each film which is followed soon thereafter by the awards presentation.
The winning videos will be posted on the The Cobb County Video Production Official Blog.

This year the entries were divided into two divisions: novice and intermediate. Winners are as follows:
Best Supporting Character: John-Michael Ritchey/ “Off Beat / Kennesaw Mountain HS
Best Actress: Oana Dimulescu/ “Off Beat / Kennesaw Mountain HS
Best Actor: Taylor Williams / “Sis, Boom, Boy” / Hillgrove HS
4th Place: “Lots of Hydrogen” / Kennesaw Mountain HS
3rd Place: “Lucid” / Kell HS
2nd Place: “Sis, Boom, Boy” / Hillgrove HS
1st Place: “Off Beat” / Kennesaw Mountain HS

Best Supporting Character: Erik Rodriguez / “The Fifth Column” / Kennesaw Mountain
Best Actress: Leah Breevoort / “The Other Me” / Kell HS
Best Actor: Taylor Sartori / “Pumkin Guts” / Walton HS
3rd Place: “Identity” / Lassiter HS
2nd Place: “The Fifth Column” / Kennesaw Mountain HS
1st Place: “Speak” / Kennesaw Mountain HS