Cobb Celebrates National French Week With Competition

Gabriella Baetti, a senior at Pope H.S. who won Superior rating for Impromptu speaking.

In celebration of National French Week, the Cobb County School District held the third annual Cobb County French Competition on Saturday, Nov. 10 on the campus of Kennesaw State University. The university’s Department of Foreign Languages and Office of International Programs and Services collaborated with the District to host the event. KSU international students from North African and Sub-Saharan African countries served as volunteers.

Dr. Bill Griffin, Chair of Foreign Languages at KSU, and Dr. Luc Gugliemi, head of the French program hosted the program for the third year and along with Julie Fournier-Angelo, Educational and Linguistic Advisor from the French Consulate, welcomed the large group of parents and students assembled in the new Social Sciences Building on the KSU campus. Teachers of Cobb County School District, former students, as well as friends of the French speaking community also made contributions as judges and volunteers. One hundred and seventy French students from fourteen different middle schools and high schools of the Cobb County system participated in a variety of categories. Another 70 students were represented in the poster competition which displayed the very best sent in by the participating schools. Competition categories included impromptu speaking, poetry recitation, dramatic reading, music (instrumental, vocal, or dance), and posters promoting this year’s theme of LA FRANCOPHONIE. All participants were awarded certificates of participation and individual award certificates for each category in which they participated along with the judge’s marks.

Dr. Greg Ewing, Supervisor of ESOL and Foreign Language Programs for Cobb County extends congratulations to our outstanding French students and thanks to all teachers, volunteers, the KSU Foreign Language Department, and to the Committee for the competition.

French Competition committee (L-R): Jennifer Wojtczak, Rachel Baker, Mary Dalton (chairperson), Svetla Dimova, and Karen Romano