Ten Cobb Teachers Achieve National Board Certification

Ten teachers in the Cobb County School District are among 87 educators in Georgia to be named National Board Certified Teachers by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards. National Board Certification is a voluntary assessment program designed to recognize and reward great teachers—and make them better. As part of the process, teachers build a portfolio that includes student work samples, assignments, videotapes and a thorough analysis of their classroom teaching. Additionally, teachers are assessed on their knowledge of the subjects they teach.

Congratulations to these 2007 National Board Certified Teachers: Carlos Barrera of Osborne High School, Tamara Brawner of Green Acres Elementary, Linda Bonstein of East Cobb Middle, Teresa Kent of Hayes Elementary, Karen Kraeger of Keheley Elementary, Jelyne Martin of the Martha J. Moore Transitional Learning Center, Elizabeth Miles of Vaughan Elementary, Timothy Mooney of McEachern High, Jane Moore of East Cobb Middle and Sandra Shelnutt of Hollydale Elementary.