Science Classes Earn Lassiter High ‘Watershed Stewarship School of the Year’ Honor

LHS_WaterStewardshipLassiter High School was recently named 2012 Watershed Stewardship School of the Year by Cobb Water! The award recognizes the efforts of Ms. Jennifer Mercure’s three senior AP Environmental Science classes, which took on water testing efforts at Rube’s Creek on Steinhauer Road during fall semester. The school’s National Science Honors Society and Green Club also volunteered to do privet pulls.

The students have transitioned from a once a month chemical testing three years ago to bi-monthly chemical and bacterial monitoring, as well as training in macroinvertebrate sampling this year. Mike Kahle, Kathy Nguyen, Rachel Small and other representatives from Cobb Water interacted with and trained the AP Environmental Science students about water quality and usage.

Lassiter received a glass frog award from Cobb Water to commemorate being named Watershed Stewardship School of the Year. Teachers Ms. Waynette Helms and Ms. Evelyne Burdette-Elgqvist were key in coordinating these efforts.