Cobb Community Honors Teachers of the Year at Annual ‘Give Our Schools a Hand’ Pep Rally


The 26th anniversary celebration of ‘Give Our Schools A Hand’ culminated with the community pep rally Oct. 28 at Roswell Street Baptist Church. Teachers of the Year from all Cobb County and Marietta City schools, as well as local postsecondary education institutions, began their day with a special breakfast provided by the Cobb Chamber of Commerce.

By 11 A.M., the auditorium was jam-packed with hundreds of students, teachers, family members and friends cheering for the arrival of the honorees. Star 94 DJ and emcee Marino welcomed the Teachers of the Year into the pep rally to uproarious applause. The honorees were ushered into the auditorium with music from the Allatoona High School Marching Band and cheerleaders from high schools across Cobb County. Prior to the awards, Bachman introduced ComPAny, the performance troupe from the Pebblebrook High School Center for Excellence in the Performing Arts, which amplified the crowd with a medley of contemporary pop songs.

Representatives from community partners the Ed Voyles Automotive Group awarded a one-year lease on a new car to each of the District-level winners and Marietta city winner. Each CCSD Teacher of the Year was individually greeted and awarded a commemorative plaque by Superintendent Chris Ragsdale. See below for a gallery of images from the pep rally. Thanks to the Cobb Chamber of Commerce and all of the community partners who honored Cobb County educators at the ‘Give Our Schools A Hand’ event.