Board Recognitions–January, 29, 2015

Congratulations! The Board recognized the following individuals or groups for outstanding accomplishments at the January 29 Board of Education meeting:

  • Walton High School Band: The year started off sunny for Walton High School’s marching band. The band represented Walton High School, Cobb County Schools, and the State of Georgia in the 126th Annual Rose Parade in Pasadena, CA. The popular and time-honored tradition is one of the country’s favorite New Year’s events. This is the 3rd time Walton has been invited to take part in the parade.
  • North Cobb High School State AAAAAA Volleyball Champions: For the first time since 1983, North Cobb’s Volleyball Team won the state athletic championship. The team defeated North Gwinnett High School in five sets to win the Class 6A State Volleyball Championship in November. The Lady Warriors finished the season with an impressive 44-13 record. Congratulations to Head Coach James Auld and his team.
  • Kelly Paynter of Sprayberry High School: Kelly has been named Georgia Library Media Association Media Specialist of the Year. Kelly is the Media Specialist at Sprayberry High School. Kelly embraces the role of instructional partner through collaboration with classroom teachers, creation of interdisciplinary lessons, and integration of technology tools. By modelling best practices and providing professional development opportunities, she truly serves as a teacher leader in her school and in the Library Media Department.
  • Beth Finnegan of Kennesaw Elementary School– Beth was recognized as having an Exceptional Elementary Media Program at Kennesaw Elementary School. Beth’s passion and enthusiasm for her role as media specialist is abundantly apparent in her interactive lessons, her collaborative partnerships, and her creative practices. Whether in a costume or integrating technology, she consistently engages students in their learning.
  • District Employees with 40+ Years of Service: Student success is a passion of the recipients of recognition of four or more decades of service and CCSD 40 year pins. These dedicated and loyal Cobb Schools Team members have served the District faithfully and with great enthusiasm for their profession. Ranging from Fleet Maintenance to Transportation and classroom instruction, they represent our district well through their commitment and consistency. They embody our theme of One Team, One Goal: Student Success.

    • Thomas Matthews is a teacher at Eastside Elementary School. Has been with the District for 40 years.
    • James Pitner of the Maintenance Department has been with the District for 40 years.
    • Barbara Furr of the Transportation Department has been with the District for 42 years.
    • Virginia Edgar, also in Transportation, has served the District for 43 years.
    • Ronnie West, in the Fleet Maintenance Department, has served 44 years in the District.
    • Annette Hansard is a Social Studies and ESOL teacher at Osborne High School. She celebrates 45 years in Cobb.
    • Gail Whitlock is a Science teacher at Walton High School, and has been with Cobb for 43 years.
    • Betty Greer is in her 49th year of service in Cobb! She loves her work in the Transportation Department of Cobb County Schools.