Thirteen Cobb Schools Named Title I Distinguished Schools

The Georgia Department of Education recently named 13 Cobb schools Title I Distinguished Schools for 2008-09. These schools are considered models for schools identified for improvement with similar demographics. Recognition is based on the number of years a school makes Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) under federal No Child Left Behind guidelines. Schools that have made AYP for three consecutive years receive a certificate of recognition. Schools that have made AYP for four or more years will receive the certificate, as well as a monetary award.

Cobb’s Title I Distinguished Schools are: Austell Intermediate, Austell Primary, Birney Elementary, Brown Elementary, Clarkdale Elementary, Garrett Middle, Harmony-Leland Elementary, Mableton Elementary, Powers Ferry Elementary, Russell Elementary, Sanders Elementary, Sedalia Park Elementary and Sky View Elementary.

Congratulations to the faculty, staff and students at these schools for their exemplary work.